Skip to main content

World Languages Department

Welcome to SJHHS World Language Department


At SJHHS, our vision is to inspire a journey which leads toward bilingual fluency, the most competitive universities and careers, and an enriching life of travel and discovery.

World Language Teachers
Natalie Chavez nachavez@capousd.org
Cara Fermin clfermin@capousd.org
Marie Finman (Dept. Chair) mffinman@capousd.org
Linda Keeler ldkeeler@capousd.org
Marguerite Morlan mjmorlan@capousd.org
Sarah Ortiz  saortiz@capousd.org
Lorena Perez Sanchez lperezsanchez@capousd.org
Alvaro Serrano arserrano@capousd.org
Marlen Tong mmtong@capousd.org
Gabrielle Unzueta gaunzueta@capousd.org

 

Bonjour! ¡Hola!

San Juan Hills High School offers students two foreign languages:  French and Spanish

 

To graduate from high school, students need either one (1) year of a world language or one (1) year of a fine art.  

 

California State University (CSU) and University of California (UC) require two (2) years of a world language, three (3) years recommended.

World Language Classes

- Spanish I

- Spanish II

- Spanish III

- Spanish for Spanish Speakers I

- Spanish for Spanish Speakers II

- Two Way Immersion Spanish III

- Spanish IV AP Language

- Spanish V AP Literature

- French I

- French II

- French III

- French IV AP

Seal of Biliteracy

The Seal of Biliteracy is an award that recognizes students who have studied and attained proficiency in two or more languages by high school graduation. This award encourages students to pursue biliteracy and can be evidence of skills that are attractive to future employers and college admissions offices.

For questions about the seal or to see if you quality, talk to your World Language teacher or Academic Advisor. 

Congratulations to our 2018 graduates who received the seal on their diploma from the California Department of Education! 

Biliteral Class

Need Extra Help?

Try these links;

SPANISH:

www.studyspanish.com  (spanish tutorial)

www.phschool.com  (Additional practice activities-no code required)

www.pearsonsuccessnet.com  (online textbook-see teacher for registration code)

 

FRENCH: 

www.classzone.com  (online textbook, flash cards, quizzes, and examples)

www.wordreference.com  (online dictionary and verb conjugations)

www.duolinguo.com

www.tv5.org 

www.rfi.fr 

www.newsmap.jp 

www.internetactu.net