Skip to main content

Science Department

Welcome to the SJHHS Science Department

At San Juan Hills High School we prepare young scientists to think critically, generate questions, and design solutions to problems using supportive evidence. All instruction is aligned with NGSS, Next Generation Science Standards and content kept relevant and current.  Classes inspire and engage students through field trips, hands on labs and many collaborative fun activities.  We strive for all students to make connections beyond the classroom and into the real world.  We offer a multitude of classes to meet all students’ needs and interest levels.

Science
Olivia Bain osbain@capousd.org
Cheryl Burd clburd@capousd.org
Tyler Deshon tjdeshon@capousd.org
Conor Gilbert chgilbert@capousd.org
Marisa Gorczynski magorczynski@capousd.org
Mark Groothuis- Department Chair mdgroothuis@capousd.org
David Hall dmhall@capousd.org
Daniel Humphreys drhumphreys@capousd.org
Beth Jacob bejacob@capousd.org
Rita Kolenic rekolenic@capousd.org
Colleen Magaña cmmagana@capousd.org
Brenda Olsen blolsen@capousd.org
Emily Price eaprice@capousd.org
Erin Rickert egrickert@capousd.org
Lauren Smith lnsmith@capousd.org

 

Classes Currently Offered

  • Biology
  • Honors Biology
  • Conceptual Physics
  • Chemistry
  • Criminal Phsycology
  • Honors Chemistry
  • Physics
  • Anatomy & Physiology
  • Marine Ecology
  • AP Biology
  • AP Chemistry
  • AP Environmental Science
  • AP Physics 1
  • AP Physics 2
  • Laboratory Forensics
  • Biotechnology
  • Engineering