Skip to main content

Social Science Department

Welcome to SJHHS Social Science Department

Content. Inquiry. Literacy. Citizenship.

At SJHHS the History Department works to  design, implement, and maintain a coherent curriculum that focuses on inquiry-based critical thinking skills, improving reading comprehension and expository writing ability, and promotes an engaged and knowledgeable citizenry. History, Civics and Government, Geography, Economics, and the social sciences are integral to our shared mission of preparing our students for college, careers, and civic life in a culturally diverse world. These disciplines develop our students’ understanding of the physical world, encourage their participation in our democratic system of government, teach students about our past, inform their financial choices, and improve their ability to make reasoned decisions based upon evidence.  Feel free to contact the History Department Chair should you have any questions or comments.

 

Social Science Department
Matt Ahmer maahmer@capousd.org
Kathy Boggio kmboggio@capousd.org
Charles Briggs cwbriggs@capousd.org
Jennifer Eckert-Toler jleckerttoler@capousd.org
Jason Efstathiou jbefstathiou@capousd.org
Damon Garner dlgarner@capousd.org
Jamie Gonzalez jdgonzalez@capousd.org
Johanna Heavlin-Martinez jhmartinez@capousd.org
Juan Hernandez jjhernandez@capousd.org
Josh Hunnicutt - Department Chair jkhunnicutt@capousd.org
Bill Kaiser bgkaiser@capousd.org
Rob Lynde rblynde@capousd.org
Kristen Osborn klosborn@capousd.org
Nate Roberts nrroberts@capousd.org
Joe Snedeker jjsnedeker@capousd.org
Rob Spiers rgspiers@capousd.org

 

History & Social Science Teachers at Graduation
History & Social Science Teachers at Graduation
Classes Currently Offered
  • World History Honors (9th grade)
  • World History Honors (Language Immersion, 9th grade)
  • World History (10th grade)
  • United States History (11th grade)
  • United States Government (12th grade)
  • Economics (12th grade)
  • Psychology
  • Sociology
  • Model United Nations
  • AP European History
  • AP United States History
  • AP American Government
  • AP American Government and Economics
  • AP Psychology
  • AP Art History