Skip to main content

English Department

Welcome to the SJHHS English Department

At SJHHS, English curriculum focuses on reading, writing, speaking, listening, language, and critical thinking. As students advance through the grades and master these skills and standards, they are able to exhibit with increasing fullness and regularity the capacities of the literate individual. All instruction is aligned with the California Common Core State Standards and is designed to prepare students for the rigors of college and career. Instruction seeks to prepare students for success both in high school and in life beyond high school.

English Teachers
Christine Bak-Boychuk cbakboychuk@capousd.org
Kathy Callier kccallier@capousd.org
Christopher Clark crclark@capousd.org
Katelyn Connors kaconnors@capousd.org
Courtney Cooper crcooper@capousd.org
Janie Gidion jlgidion@capousd.org
Katie Klingbeil keklingbeil@capousd.org
John Lewis jglewis@capousd.org
Jennifer Mele jemele@capousd.org
Kaitlin Naccarato - Department Chair knnaccarato@capousd.org
Eric Noble ejnoble@capousd.org
Leslie Percell lapercell@capousd.org
Danielle Serio dmserio@capousd.org
Kenneth Soto kmsoto@capousd.org
Leo Spengler LASPENGLERIV@capousd.org
Sharon Spiers slspiers@capousd.org
Darcie Stress dkstress@capousd.org
Jen Tatala jltatala@capousd.org
Jonathan Walters jrwalters@capousd.org
Katie Wegner kmwegner@capousd.org
Brian Willis brwillis@capousd.org

 

English Department Policies

Level Down Policy

If a student chooses to drop a class level they will begin the new class with the grade earned in the previous course. The student will be required to complete pertinent work selected by the teachers of that grade level team. Any make-up work completed must be turned in within three weeks of transferring into the class. Students are responsible for participating in the current unit of study for the class they are transferring into. Participation includes, but is not limited to: daily classwork, newly assigned homework, reading of all literature deemed central to the unit curriculum, major projects, and summative assessments.

Plagiarism & Academic Honesty

Cheating and plagiarism of any kind will NOT BE TOLERATED in this class.  All essays must be turned into www.turnitin.com on time to be considered complete. If a student is caught cheating or plagiarizing, he/she will receive a zero on the test/assignment, a referral, and a parent will be contacted.

Right to Free Education

Please note that the Constitution of the State of California requires that we provide a public education to you free of charge. Your right to a free education is for all school/educational activities, whether curricular or extracurricular, and whether you get a grade for the activity or class.  Subject to certain exceptions, your right to a free public education means that we cannot require you or your family to purchase materials, supplies, equipment or uniforms for any school activity, nor can we require you or your family to pay security deposits for access, participation, materials, or equipment.

Classes Currently Offered

  • English I
  • English I Honors
  • English II
  • English II Honors
  • English III
  • AP English Language and Composition
  • English IV
  • Expository Reading and Writing Course (Senior English)
  • AP English Literature

Students who are College & Career Ready

  • They demonstrate independence.
  • They build strong content knowledge.
  • They respond to the varying demands of audience, task, purpose, and discipline.
  • They comprehend as well as critique.
  • They value evidence.
  • They use technology and digital media strategically and capably.
  • They come to understand other perspectives and cultures.

What is Turn-It-In?

Turn-It-In is an internet based service used by our English department where students are able to upload essays and other English assignments for teachers to look over and check for plagiarism as well as grade the assignment.